Blog publication

Disaster Assistance Available to Qualified People in Mississippi

The Federal Emergency Management Agency is committed to helping all eligible disaster survivors recover from Hurricane Ida. Eligible individuals include U.S. citizens, non-citizen nationals, and qualified aliens.

To be potentially eligible for assistance under the FEMA Individual or Family Program, applicants must be U.S. citizens, non-citizen nationals, or qualified foreigners. However, undocumented families with varying immigration statuses only need one family member (including minor children) who is a U.S. citizen and has a Social Security number to apply. If the U.S. citizen household member is a minor child, the minor child must live with the parent or guardian who is applying on their behalf.

Applicants will be asked to sign a declaration and release form indicating that they are among the legally qualified applicants. If a person is unqualified but has a minor child who is a U.S. Citizen or a Qualified Resident residing in their household, that person can still seek help on behalf of the child, and no status information is available. will be collected.

Qualified foreigners are:

  • Legal permanent residents (those with green cards);
  • Those who have refugee or asylum status;
  • Those whose deportation has been refused;
  • Those on parole in the United States for at least a year for humanitarian purposes;
  • Those with conditional entry;
  • Those who are Cuban-Haitian entrants;
  • Amerasian immigrants; and
  • Those with requests for redress based on beating or acts of extreme cruelty by a family member.

Additional help may be available regardless of citizenship status. Other programs such as crisis counseling, disaster legal services and other short-term non-cash emergency assistance may be available regardless of citizenship status. In addition, voluntary organizations provide assistance regardless of citizenship or immigrant status.

All people, regardless of citizenship status, who are affected by a major disaster may be eligible for other non-cash and in-kind disaster relief programs. These can include medical care, shelter, food and water. Undocumented immigrants are not eligible for FEMA cash assistance or disaster unemployment assistance.

Individuals who are not eligible for federal assistance can call the FEMA helpline at 800.621.3362 to be referred to volunteer organizations. Undocumented immigrants from households in which no one is eligible for FEMA cash assistance may be eligible for programs run by state, local agencies, or volunteers. Assistance to eligible individuals and small businesses may include funds for temporary housing and necessary home repairs, grants to individuals and households, unemployment disaster assistance, low interest loans US Small Business Administration disaster relief and other programs.

(Source: FEMA)